EWS Certificate Form: Eligibility, Documents & How To Apply?

EWS Certificate Form

If you are a deserving candidate from the Economically Weaker Section (EWS). We truly wish you should not miss the EWS quota with respect to the seats in Government Jobs (like SSC,Railway,IAS etc) and Government institutes (like the IIMs and IITs).

Many candidates and even some bureaucrats are not aware of the newly introduced provisions. Here is a complete guide on EWS Certificate Form and Its an application process. 

What is EWS Certificate?

The Government Of India recently announced a declaration under which the weaker sections in the General category. It will also get the benefit of the 10% reservation in government jobs and educational institutions. The Central and the State Government keeps on providing many jobs. In which you will get the benefit of reservation financially.

If you also come into the EWS category, then make your EWS certificate. So that you can get 10% quota in Center jobs and state jobs.

EWS Full Form

EWS stands for Economically Weaker Sections.

Eligibility for EWS Certificate

Candidate must belongs to General Category or Caste according to the central government of India. There is no age limitations criteria to apply for EWS Certificate.

Persons who are not covered under the scheme of reservation for SCs, STs and OBCs and whose family has a gross annual income below Rs 8 lakh. They are to be identified as EWSs for benefit of reservation.

Income shall also include income from all sources i.e. salary, agriculture, business, profession, etc. for the financial year prior to the year of application.

Also, persons whose family owns or possesses any of the following assets shall be excluded from being identified as EWS, irrespective of the family income: –

  1. You should belong to General Caste.
  2. Family Income should be less than 8 lakhs.
  3. A Family’s Agricultural Land Area should be less than 5 Acres.
  4. Residential Flat Area should be less than 1000 sq.ft
  5. Residential Plot Area should be less than 100 sq.yards (Notified Municipalities)
  6. Family’s Residential Plot Area should be less than 200 sq.yards (Other than the notified municipalities)

Note: The above mentioned eligibility criteria to get EWS Reservation are given by Central Government of India. Different states of India can set their own Income cut-off to decide who can constitute EWS.

EWS reservation:

You need to get an “Income and Asset Certificate” from the concerned government authority (Eg: Tehsildar).

The benefit of reservation under EWS can be availed upon production of an Income and Asset Certificate issued by a Competent Authority.

The Income and Asset Certificate issued ‘by any one of the following authorities in the prescribed format shall only be accepted as proof of candidate’s claim as ‘belonging to EWS.

Documents for EWS Certificate

Candidates must get ready these documents before EWS Certificate Application Form:

  • Aadhaar Card (mandatory)
  • Income Certificate (mandatory)
  • Pan Card (mandatory)
  • Caste Certificate
  • BPL Card
  • Bank Statement
  • Affidavit/ Self Declaration
  • Recent Passport size photo
  • Other relevant documents

List of documents mentioned above varies for state to state as per their rules. Therefore applicants are advised to visit the EWS certificate issuing authority and collect all Important Information.

How to apply for EWS Certificate?

EWS Certificate applications can be filled online or offline in different states of India. To fill EWS application in offline mode, candidates have to follow these process mentioned below:

  1. Download the EWS Certificate Form PDF by link provided below.
  2. Fill up all the required information.
  3. Paste a passport size photograph.
  4. Attach all the required documments.
  5. Submit this application to your nearest Tahsil/Block Office. You can contact your nearest CSC (Common Service Center) or Jan Sewa Kendra and apply from there to get EWS Certificate soon.

EWS Certificate Application Fee

EWS Application fee depends on the issuing authority and diffirent state governmnets. In some of the states It’s absolutely free to apply for EWS Certificate. In other states applicants have to pay a nominal fee.

It simply means that application fee for EWS Certificate is not uniform in all states of India.

EWS Certificate Validity

The EWS Certificate or Economicaly Weaker Section Certificate will be valid for one financial year from the date of issue. If you will apply this certificate in 2020 then It will be valid for year 2020-2021.

Before using the EWS Certificate for admission or recruitment purpose applicants must check whether the Income certificate is valid or not.

You can also contact the issuing authority of the concerned State/UT to get more information about the validity of the EWS Certificate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here